Epsom Salt Baths – My Weekly Routine

epsom-bath

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! We had four soccer games between the two kids, to make up for the cancelled games from the hurricane that hit us a few weeks ago. Outside of that, the kids played outside and we worked on some school projects. I will have to share some more on our latest school projects on an upcoming blog. Not to spoil the fun, but these “family” projects end up being more like mommy projects and in case you have not noticed, I already have enough of those in my life! I did get to go to Whole Foods all by myself and that was a special treat. I could actually focus on my grocery list and upcoming recipes versus playing referee. Man, you know the times have changed when I get excited about going to the grocery store alone!

Since I talked about running yesterday, I felt that it would be fitting to talk about one of the ways in which I recover for all the wear and tear running takes on my body. I have a weekly routine in which I take a n epsom salt bath every Sunday night. It is a great day to wind down from a busy weekend, but is also a great way to cleanse and get focused for the upcoming week. There are so many benefits of epsom salt. The epsom salt is absorbed through the skin and helps with muscle tension and inflammation. I typically schedule my long runs on the weekend, so by Sunday night my legs are sore and need a good soak. Another benefit of epsom salt is that is helps remove all of the toxins in your body. This is vital considering all of the toxins that we are exposed to each day. Epsom salt is also a good source of magnesium. The majority of us out there are deficient in magnesium, so why not kill two birds with one stone. More than 325 enzymes in our bodies require magnesium to properly function. Magnesium stimulates nerve and muscle function, limits inflammation, and improves oxygenation and blood flow through the body. Deficiencies in magnesium can cause significant damage to nerves which manifest in symptoms associated with depression.

The other reason why I love my Sunday ritual is because it is a time in which I meditate and reflect on the things that I want to focus on over the course of the week. One of my big goals right now is focusing on a new project that I am working on to help other mommies become the best version of themselves. As a result, I like to use this time to focus on what I am going to accomplish in the next week. This is a project that I am working on outside of my full-time job, so this time is perfect for me to brainstorm and write out some goals for the week.

While the epsom salt is the main ingredient, I also use baking soda and essential oils. My favorite combination is doTERRA balance and lavender. I love the doTERRA oils because they seem to be more concentrated than other brands that I have tried. Balance smells amazing and lavender is calming and relaxing. You can use any essential oil scent that you prefer. If I am feeling under the weather, I will use eucalyptus or doTERRA On Guard to help me fight off the funk.

Epsom Salt Recipe

1/2 cup epsom salt
1/4 cup baking soda
5 drops of your favorite essential oil

I highly encourage you to add this routine to your weekly practice. Please be sure to keep a large glass of water by you because you will sweat like crazy. All of this toxins need to go somewhere.

What is one of your favorite rituals?

Until next time, keep being the best version of yourself!

Leave a Reply

