Who Doesn’t Love Waffles???

Okay, so hear’s the deal – today sucked! I am not going to sit and and pretend that I had a great day. This morning started out with me missing my morning run. That is never a sign of a good day, especially this time of year. Running is not only my time to think, but my time to let off steam. It is the busiest time of year for me at work and I need that time to be free. Of course, the kids decided to test me this morning and then I started my work day with an 8:00 call and it was non-stop all day long. My days are typically pretty busy, but the frustrating part was that nothing seemed to be going my way today. I felt defeated. I felt powerless. I just felt worn out.

Thankfully all that changed when I shut my laptop down for the day. I am doing a much better job of shutting down from work at the end of the day. I have a feeling this new project may have something to do with it. Anyway, E was so excited when he found out I was done working for the day. I think he was watching the clock and was a little disappointed when 5:00 passed and I was still working. I saw the look on his face and decided that the rest of the emails could wait. After I shut down, he started telling me everything I could possibly want to know about bats. He was so excited and I am pretty sure he recited the entire book of facts that he read in class that day. It definitely put a smile on my face!

I feel that I would be a hypocrite if I wrote about being a good mom, a good employee or a good wife today, so I am not going to go there. So, why not switch things up a bit and talk about food? I am such a foodie and love to spend as much time in the kitchen as possible. One of these days I will share our food journey with you, but for now lets just talk about breakfast. Do you remember the post from yesterday about perfection? Yes, I used to practice that with breakfast too. I had this crazy idea that we would keep a meal plan for breakfast like we do for lunch and dinner. It would keep us more organized and it would help streamline our morning routine even more. Okay, that lasted all but a day! What I quickly found out is that we all have different things that we like for breakfast. My preference is either eggs or smoothies, J likes granola and the kids favorite is usually oatmeal. I tried to just rotate our favorites throughout the week, but it just ended in drama. That was one battle I did not want to fight! As a result, I just make sure I have breakfast items prepared on Sunday for the upcoming week.

One of our favorite breakfast items to have on hand during the week are these waffles. I will typically make a double batch on the weekend and freeze the leftovers. They are dairy and gluten free, so they are allergy friendly as well. When E was not able to have eggs, I made with a chia egg replacement and they were just as yummy.

As you can see from the picture, I am not too good at food photography. I always forget to take a picture before I take a bite. In this instance, E was still hungry so I gave him part of my waffle and then took a picture. At least you can tell that it was good! I topped this waffle with pumpkin spice peanut butter and a little maple syrup and it was heavenly.

fullsizerender

 

Waffles

Serves 4 with my waffle iron

1 1/2 cup oats
2 teaspoons baking powder (if you are gluten free, make sure the brand you use does not have gluten)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup milk (I use almond milk and warm a bit so it is at room temperature)
1/4 cup oil or butter (I use coconut oil)
2 large eggs at room temperature
2 Tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoons vanilla

I put everything into my Vitamix and blend on high speed for about a minute. You can use a regular blender, but you will more than likely need to blend longer. You can also just put the oats in the blender to grind into a flour consistency and then add the rest of the ingredients.

If you do use coconut oil, you will want to make sure to use room temperature ingredients. If you use a different source of fat, it does not matter.

Let batter rest for a few minutes.

Pour onto a greased waffle iron and cook according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Top with your favorites. We switch it up depending on the season. We have used everything from bananas and chocolate chips to sautéed apples.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

