Creating Balance in Chaos

da8fbfc59a7b107c657833ad24311f90

Man, it has been a crazy week! I have a long weekend coming up and I am so looking forward to it. The kids will be in school, so it will be a day all to myself. We all need those days every now and then. I am hoping to get some shopping in. I am in desperate need of some fall clothes now that the weather is finally getting cooler. I am so glad that we are finally transitioning into fall down here in Florida for a number of reasons. I love the holiday season and all of the fun traditions we have and I can’t wait to kick it off with my little man’s birthday in the middle of November. It is bittersweet to watch him grow up. Time goes way too fast! We also spend a lot of time outdoors and I love all the hiking and exploring that we can do now that the weather is cooler. Life is good!

Today, I have something on my mind that I want to share with all of you. I am finding that as the kids get older, it is actually more of a challenge to be a working mommy. There is so much more that is going on in their lives and more of an opportunity to miss out on something. I am so grateful to be able to work from home most of the week, so that I can be around when they get off the bus. Although, working from home is not as glamorous as it sounds. I feel an upcoming post coming soon!

For the last several years, one of my goals at work was the establish better work-life balance. Over the last several months, I am coming to the conclusion that there is no such thing. There are going to be points of time that it is a necessity to lean into work more or other times in which family needs to come first, regardless of what is going on. The summer months are typically slower in my position and I took full advantage of it. I was very thankful for the relaxed schedule, especially since I was shuttling the kids back and forth to camp most of the summer. However, the busy season is here and I am not sure I am ready for it. I know that I am going to be pulled in multiple directions and will have to prioritize what is most important at the given moment. Life is going to be out of balance during this season and I really just need to find a way to embrace it versus constantly searching for the secret to success.

There are two things that are a necessity for me, regardless the time of year and how busy I am. The first is exercise and the second is family dinner time. My day is not the same if I do not start it with some type of exercise. I prefer running, but yoga and strength training are favorites as well. It is tough running in the Florida summers and my weekly mileage definitely goes down. This is another reason why I am happy for the cooler temperatures! I am really trying to get into meditation as well, but that is a work in progress. My mind just does not want to turn off, no matter how hard I try!

The other constant in my life is family dinners. It does get to be a bit of a challenge with sports and activity schedules, but we sit down as a family to dinner every night. This is our time to connect over a tasty meal. We have a ritual in which we go around the table and everyone shares one thing that they are grateful for about their day. It started out as sharing the best thing about your day and then the worst thing, but I found that we spent too much time discussing the negative aspects of the day and did not take enough time to focus on gratitude. There are no forms of technology, including phones, allowed at the table. My son likes to test the limits by bringing his fake phone to the table every now and then. Even that is not allowed at the dinner table! It is really an opportunity to recharge and refocus after a long and stressful day. On top of that, my son has quite the sense of humor and has mastered the art of putting a smile on your face and my daughter is wonderful on educating us on a recent topic she is interested in. There are some days when I really want to eat in peace and quiet but then I am reminded that there will come a point in time, probably sooner than I would like it, when I will miss our dinner conversations and dread the silence.

Several friends have reached out to me to question how I have time to have a career, run a business and start a blog on top of everything else in my life. Well, it can be done. I very rarely watch tv anymore. I use the time in the evening, which I previously spent watching the latest drama on television, working on things that I am passionate about. A lot of this motivation stems from two recent books that I have read, that I will share with you at some point. I am really passionate about helping others and that is my motivation to embrace my latest projects. I am happy and I feel a true sense of purpose, especially with all of the messages I have been receiving from friends. Our routine at home has not changed and I will continue to spend the same amount of quality time with my family.

I certainly am no expert, but I feel that I have a pretty good balance in life most of the time. However, there are definitely moments when I feel like either home life or work life are suffering because I am not able to give it the time and attention that it needs. What are some ways that you try to maintain balance in your life?

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18322049/?claim=ksw2gs69bu4″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

