Reflection on Parenting

1193ac137cab1de2b7fca8c4f2d75792

Morning!  Okay, so today I was going to post a cleaning recipe that I am sure you will all love.  However, I had a change of heart and was inspired to write something else.  You see, today is my son’s seventh birthday.  I have the day off of work and will be chaperoning his field trip and then taking him for a special treat before his sister gets off the bus.  He is one lucky boy to have a field trip on his birthday.  I try to be as involved as I can with school and outside activities, so it is not uncommon for me to take a day off to go on a field trip or help with a school activity.  I am fortunate to have a good number of vacation days and I have a great team to back me up when I am out of the office.

006

The reason why I am writing this post is because for the last couple of days I had seriously been thinking about changing my plans and working today.  I would have still gone on his field trip, but I would have rushed back to my office and my mind would definitely not be where it really needed to be.  Work is so very busy right now and I had to take off a little early yesterday to take my daughter to the doctor.  I also need to take a day next week off to get ready for Thanksgiving.  I am going to have a new challenge of making everything grain free due to some recent developments with my daughter.  I know that I have said on this blog several times that I do a pretty good job of managing life, but that is not always the case.  There are times when I fail to put what is most important to me first and need to be reminded of what really matters.  I think we all do and that is why I wanted to change the post topic for today.  A job is just that, a job.  It can be replaced.  Family is so precious and we have to hold on to every minute, every memory and every opportunity to spend time together.  Unfortunately, several close friends and family members have voids in their lives right now due to recent deaths.  We have had two very close friends have to bury their children.  My heart aches for them, just thinking about what must go through their head each birthday.  As I reflect today, I am disappointed in myself that I even considered putting the business of my career ahead of my precious little boy.

007

I once had a very close friend ask me how I am able to do so much with my kids and have a successful career.  I would be a hypocrite if I did not say that it isn’t always easy.  However, I believe that it is really more about the quality of the time spent together versus the quantity.  Today, when I am on the field trip and celebrating my son’s birthday I will be 100% there.  Tomorrow, when I have to catch up on the work that I missed from being off today, I will be 100% there.  It has taken me a while to get to this point, but I feel very confident this practice is the reason that I can accomplish so much in a day.  I am able to tune out what is not the focus in the moment and focus on what really matters at the time.  Sometimes it needs to be work.  Sometimes it needs to be family.  However, family should always be the primary focus, regardless of what is happening in your life.

Today is an emotional day for me.  For the longest time, my husband and I thought that we would just have the one child.  I was on bedrest for two months with my daughter and it was not pretty.  Thankfully, she was only born a month early and was fairly healthy.  However, I was so worried that we would not be so lucky the next time.  I tried to convince myself that my daughter was better off being an only child and we settled on just having the one.  As my daughter got older, I started to realize how nice it would be for her to have a bond with another sibling.  Unfortunately, my husband and I do not come from a traditional family upbringing and are not very close to our siblings.  However, I know the bond does exist and it is very powerful.  Around that same time, my husband was out of the country and he too was thinking the same thing.  We were still not certain with our decision, but decided to put it in God’s hands.  Well, I got pregnant two months later!  Clearly it was meant to be.  Since then, we have both had some health issues and having children is no longer in the cards for us.  I could not imagine if we waited any longer to change our mind. I could not imagine our family without our little man in it.

img_0918

As I am reflecting on our journey today, I am reminded again as to what is most important in life.  It is not how many accolades you receive at work.  It is not how many volunteer hours you have at school.  It is not how involved you are in the community.  While all of those are important and set a good example for your children, they should not be the priority.  The priority should be in creating memories with your children and your spouse, spending quality time with friends and spending time reflecting on your faith.  Unfortunately, life passes us by much too quickly and we have to make the most of the ride while we can.  Today, I am going to savor every second that I get to spend with my little man and not focus on work and other distractions.

Happy Birthday E!  I love you to the moon and back!

One thought on “Reflection on Parenting

Leave a Reply

